Fashion · Fashion Police

Fashion Review: Met Gala 2017

It’s a new week guys and I woke up this morning to seeing lovely pictures from the Met Gala. Talking about what people wore to events is one major reason I started this blog. Now these are just my opinions, I’m entitled to them whether or not I have a great fashion sense, so enjoy!

The Met Gala, formally called the Costume Institute Gala and also known as the Met Ball, is an annual fundraising gala for the benefit of the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Costume Institute in New York City. It marks the grand opening of the Costume Institute’s annual fashion exhibit. Each year’s event celebrates the theme of that year’s Costume Institute exhibition, and the exhibition sets the tone for the formal dress of the night, since guests are expected to choose their fashion to match the theme of the exhibit. Each year the event also has honorary celebrity event day chairpersons.

This year celebrates the opening of the Costume Institute’s exhibition, “Rei Kawakubo/Comme des Garçons: Art of the In-Between.” Katy Perry and Pharrell Williams were the hosts and co-chairs for the event.

  • MUST SEE LOOKS OF THE EVENT

What is the Met Gala without dramatic outfits or the trains? My first must see look is; Rihanna in an Avant-garde dress by Commes des  Garcons. She looks like a really nice garden. The second picture looks like she taking a walk of shame and she covered her “important parts” with lots of flowers and she’s peeping to see if the coast is clear. It’s Rihanna though, don’t we always look forward to what she’ll be wearing? Only her could pull this off nicely. Her hair and pair of shoes complete the look perfectly.

IMG_3325.PNG

The second look I’ll be drawing your attention to is Jaden Smith in Louis Vuitton. Apparently he came along with his chopped dreads which I thought should have been left at the barber’s shop but other than that, I thought he looked yum.
IMG_3312.PNG

 

My third must see look will be Jennifer Lopez in Valentino. Jlo always slays on red carpets but I like this because it’s different from her usual figure hugging outfits with so much skin showing. It’s different but gorgeous.

IMG_3303.PNG

 

Solange Knowles is another celebrity that likes dramatic outfits so I’m not surprised. I’m not sure how I feel about this look though especially the train but I love her shoes.

IMG_3301.PNG
Solange in a bubble coat and figure skating-esque shoes

 

Trains were really a thing on the red-carpet of the Met Gala and Priyanka Chopra in Ralph Lauren was rocking it too in this cape-like dress that made her look like a superhero which I’m really loving.

IMG_3305.PNG

 

The sixth look is Janelle Monae in Ralph and Russo. She took the “Ball” part of the Met Ball literally and showed up looking like a princess. I’ll like to see her do something different next time though. Her red carpet looks are always similar, other than that I thought she looked good.

IMG_3339.PNG

 

The last must see look is Gigi Hadid in Tommy Hifiger. I mean it’s Gigi can she ever do wrong? This wouldn’t be my first option but this works for her. She clearly couldn’t decide if she wanted to wear a dress or a blazer so she wore half of each.

IMG_3309.PNG

  • SIMPLE LOOKS THAT WORKED

Emmy Rossum in Carolina Herrera. I like how writing these things help me learn about new designers especially ones that their pieces look good. I really loved this.

IMG_3334.PNG

 

Kim Kardashian keeps it simple and fab in this white Vivienne Westwood dress. She didn’t look like she was in the mood to dress-up. She hasn’t been in a while but I love this look regardless especially the hair.

IMG_3326.PNG

 

Kate Hudson in Stella McCartney. This is the third white dress I’m drawing your attention to, apparently white dresses were a thing too. If you want to keep it simple but classy, wear a white dress and look at that hair! What’s not to love?

IMG_3328.PNG

 

Kerry Washington in Micheal Kors. When I saw this look, I had to go back to check if it was a “Gatsby themed party” but it wasn’t. Kerry didn’t care though, she wanted to look like Daisy and killed the look. I like that she always does something different.

IMG_3330.PNG

 

  • FASHION ERRORS

You can’t begin to imagine how this breaks my heart to include these wonderful women in this category but does fashion mean you have to be naked though? I’m down for a little skin here and there and even slits where necessary. By all means please look good but this isn’t looking good, leave a little to our imagination.

IMG_3320.PNG
Kendall Jenner in La Perla
IMG_3300.PNG
Halle Berry in Versace
IMG_3314.PNG
Lala Anthony in Thai Nguyen Atelier
  • WORST LOOKS
IMG_3307.PNG
Tracee Ellis Ross in Commes des Garcon

I’ve taken time to examine this look to be sure something is not wrong with my eyes. I’ve looked at it so many times from different angles to see if I’ll like it at some point because if not for anything, it’s Tracee wearing it but I don’t like it but maybe I don’t understand it, who knows?

IMG_3299.PNG
Rita Ora in Merchesa Fashion

I love from the bow upwards, the rest though…NO Rita..NO! It doesn’t look good, don’t wear it out!..oops, she already did.

 

IMG_3324.PNG
Nicki Minaj in H&M

I didn’t get a back view photo but I think it would have had a nice back view but I don’t like this look on Nicki, don’t ask me why.

IMG_3321.PNG
Serena Williams in Versace

I feel bad for not liking the outfit from her first important event debuting her bump but I’ve seen women rock their bumps in lovelier dresses. I saw a video of her twirling in this dress and said to myself, “this dress has to be lovely.” Well, maybe it’s the picture..oh yeah, I literally just figured what’s wrong; Her dress is flowing, her earrings are dangling and her hair is let down..why? I’m certain if her hair was different, I would have loved this, but oh well..

IMG_3337.PNG
Madonna in Moschino, Bella Hadid in Alexander Wang

I want to wear dresses designed by Moschino and Alexander Wang but neither of this.

 

IMG_3308.PNG
Wiz Khalifa

Please remind me what this event is again? Remember that time Kerry Washington wore a “gatsy themed dress” and it worked? Well Wiz Khalid tried the 70s look and maybe he would have killed it if that was the theme but it wasn’t and neither did this work.

 

IMG_3317.PNG
Dakota Johnson in Gucci

How can she be giving us all shades of sexiness in fifty shades and be looking like this on the red carpet? We’ve seen her look really hot without her clothes on, how about she does same with her clothes on. I still love seeing her on my TV screen though.

IMG_3311.PNG
Chrissy Teigen in Marchesa Fashion, John Legend in Burberry

Give me the train of the dress together with John and I’m fine. I didn’t know this designer before but now I’m sure I don’t like them (Marchesa Fashion) because two outfits worn by two celebrities I love didn’t turn out well. It’s their fault Chrissy.

  • BEST LOOKS
IMG_3341.PNG
Cassie and P.Diddy

I could have picked either of them separately but it’s really their over-the-top fashion together that lands them in this category.

IMG_3336.PNG
Cara Delevigne in Chanel

What’s not to love? She looks like a goddess. Only her could certainly pull this off. Team “I won’t wear a dress but I’ll wear suit and pants and kill it”. Wehdone.

 

IMG_3335.PNG
Zendaya in Dolce and Gabbana

I love this look from head-to-toe. It’s my overall best. She came for the Met “Ball”.

 

Looking forward to your comments on my review. I also want to know which looks were your best and worst. I hope you had a lovely Monday.

 

Leave a Reply

